Skip to content

Bluebells, trees and ducklings

April 25, 2017

Last year we missed out photographing the bluebells in the woods, in fact we didn’t figure out the best time of seeing them at all, even after searching for various woods nearby. I have been telling myself not to miss out again this year, so went out several times to the woods during the weekends, and then found the waves of bluebells uphill and downward. It got the lowest bows in the pictures below, yay!

20170423_152103

mmexport1493494782626

On the edge of the woods, we saw a small field of oak trees in adjacent to the woods but separated by a highway. I always like this type of tree not only because they grow tall solid and leafy, but also they can live very very long, hundreds of years easily. In recent decades, the housing development scenario in the local area witnesses the forestry reserves disappearing rapidly. I just wish this small field of oak trees would stand as long as it can be.

20170423_153515

In the woods, there is a lake that rather soothingly greets the forest walkers. We’d often sit on one of the benches to rest after a lengthy walk, and to my surprise, I find the duckling in the lake can actually fly really high, just like a bird, and then scooting down landing on the water surface. Goodness gracious me!

20170424_172716

I can tell the males from their attractive colourful head while the females are quite dull looking. Sometimes the animal world is rather opposite to our human gender perception (joking). Previously I only knew this kind of ducks were able to swim in the water as well as walk on the ground, but flying in the air was kind of a new discovery to me, maybe I had read too little about it before. Anyway, I feel the notion of a flying duckling pretty fascinating.

Leave a Comment

I'd like to know what you think:

